Project title: Managing and conserving forests for multiple values (MACOFOR)

EU-CANADA PROGRAMME CO-OPERATION IN HIGHER EDUCATION, TRAINING AND YOUTH

TRANSATLANTIC EXCHANGE PARTNERSHIPS PROJECT 2010 - 2651 /001 - 001 - CPT EU-CAN TEP

financed by the Commission of the European Union (EU) through Educational, Audiovisual andCulture Executive Agency (EACEA) and HRSD Canada (Project #9948290)

 

Home PageMobilitiesApplication and DeadlinesNewsFAQLinksFeedbackContact

EU Lead Institution:University of Transilvania, Brasov

Director, Prof.dr. Alexandru Lucian Curtu, E-mail:  lucian.curtu@unitbv.ro

Canadian Lead Institution:University of Alberta, Edmonton

Director, Prof. dr. Phil Comeau, E-mail: pcomeau@ualberta.ca

Partner institutions:

 EU:University of Life Sciences, Prague, Czech Republic

         Prof. dr. Ivo Kupka, E-mail: kupka@fld.czu.cz

        Georg-August University Goettingen, Germany

 Prof. dr. Christian Ammer and Prof. dr.Michael Bredemeier, E-mails:  Christian.Ammer@forst.uni-goettingen.de, mbredem@gwdg.de

 Canada:University of Laval, Quebec

Prof. dr. Damase Khasa, E-mail: Damase.Khasa@ibis.ulaval.ca

Vancouver Island University, British Columbia

Prof. dr. Michel Vallee, E-mail: Michel.Vallee@viu.ca

 The project intends to increase awareness and knowledge of forest conservation and management practices for multiple values in different regions of the world under changing climates. This transatlantic exchange partnership will enhance mutual understanding, provide valuable training for students, and enhance collaboration and exchange between EU and Canadian Universities. Over its 3 year term this project will support the mobility of 51 EU and 51 Canadian students and 3 EU and 3 Canadian faculty.  Mobility will include a combination of short term field oriented visits and longer term studies at partner institutions.

Participants at the intensive forestry field courses in Western Canada in 2011
Canadian student during a field-trip in Romanian Carpathians in 2011
Forestry field-based courses in Germany
Visiting the tree nursery of Local Forest Service in Brasov – Romania, April 2013
Evaluating a field trial of pine species in Carpathian Mountains – Romania, May 2013
EU students discussing experiments at UBC Research Forest – Canada, July 201
EU students attending field-based courses on Vancouver Island – Canada, August 2013